Vanier Institute Welcomes New Appointments to Board of Directors

The Vanier Institute of the Family is pleased to announce five new appointments to its Board of Directors: Jerome Berthelette, Patricia Furman, Malcolm Johannesen, Mary Simon and Anna-Karina Tabuñar. Jean Fournier, Shelagh M’Gonigle, Lawrence Nestman and the Hon. Marilyn Trenholme Counsell have completed their terms on the Vanier Board with our utmost gratitude and appreciation.

“We’re pleased to welcome these accomplished leaders to our team, all of whom have demonstrated a commitment to families in Canada, and to fostering inclusive and supportive communities across the country,” says Vanier Institute CEO Nora Spinks.

Jerome Berthelette, who first joined the Vanier Institute Board in 1990, returns to the organization, where he will continue to provide leadership skills developed through his extensive experience in the First Nations and Inuit Health Branch at Health Canada, the Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples and the National Association of Friendship Centres.

Patricia Furman is currently the Executive Director of Inspired by Wonder Inc. in Winnipeg, Manitoba. A former Child Development Counsellor, she is passionate about her belief in children reaching their highest potential, and she has been recognized with the 2016 Prime Minister’s Award for Excellence in Early Childhood Education and the 2016 Winnipeg Centre MP 150th Anniversary Medal for Volunteerism.

Malcolm Johannesen has worked with diverse organizations including the Canadian Armed Forces, Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada and the Correctional Service of Canada. Currently serving as Regional Manager, Child and Family Services at Indigenous Services Canada in Edmonton, Malcolm has demonstrated a passion for supporting military and Veteran families through volunteer work with the Kingston Military Family Resource Centre and the National Military Family Council, and has served as Director of the Edmonton Garrison Military Family Resource Centre and the Edmonton John Howard Society.

Mary Simon has been an advocate for Inuit rights and culture in Canada and abroad for more than 40 years. Former President of the Makivik Corporation, the Inuit Circumpolar Council and Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami (ITK), Mary has provided leadership in diverse organizations and has represented the Inuit to the Government of Canada and the United Nations, and has served in diverse roles throughout her career, including Canadian Ambassador for Circumpolar Affairs and Canadian Ambassador to Denmark.

Anna-Karina Tabuñar is a communications and change leader with over 20 years of experience in strategy, execution and engagement in the public and private sectors. A former journalist at CJOH TV Ottawa, she also hosted the award-winning and internationally acclaimed current affairs program Canada in Perspective, and produced and directed the acclaimed documentary Talent Untapped, which explored disability, accessibility and workplace inclusion.

These new additions join Vanier Board Chair Marie Vaillancourt, Treasurer Kim Colman and Board members Carl Cadogan, Naguib Gouda, Norah Keating, Rosemary E. Ommer, Norma Tombari and Rajesh Uttamchandani.

“We look forward to working with the new Board, and we are grateful to our outgoing Board members, Jean Fournier, Shelagh M’Gonigle, Larry Nestman and the Hon. Marilyn Trenholme Counsell, for their passion and commitment during their time on the Vanier Board,” says Spinks.

Published on December 12, 2019

Scroll to Top