Board of Directors 2017-10-20T14:41:42+00:00

Board of Directors

Victor M. Duret, CPA, CA, IFA
Board Chair

In June 2015, Victor Duret was elected Chairman of the Board and President of the Institute. He joined the Board in 2012, serving as Treasurer until his election as Chairman of the Board. more

Rina Arseneault, C.M.
Board Member

Rina Arseneault is widely recognized as a social worker, researcher, organizer, author and educator. Rina has been the Associate Director of the Muriel McQueen Fergusson Centre for Family Violence Research (MMFC) since November 1993. She has extensive regional and national experience working with community organizations, individual researchers, government agencies, the media and survivors of violence. more

Bruce Hardy

Dr. Bruce Hardy joined the Vanier Institute’s Board of Directors in June 2016. Bruce is currently an associate faculty member at City University, where he teaches in the graduate program in counselling. He is a former Executive Director of Options Services to Communities Society, West Coast Family Resources Society and Chimo Crisis Center. more

Kelly J. Lendsay
Vice Chair

Kelly J. Lendsay joined the Vanier Institute’s Board of Directors in 2013, where he is currently serving his first term. A proud Indigenous leader of Canadian of Cree, Métis, and European ancestry, Kelly is a social entrepreneur who is internationally recognized as one of Canada’s foremost innovators of Indigenous workplace inclusion, diversity and partnership building. more

Mackenzie Martin
Board Member

Mackenzie Martin joined the Vanier Institute’s Board of Directors in October 2017. Mackenzie is a researcher working with the AGE-WELL NCE program, where she examines the role of technology in the lives of caregivers and seniors. She has worked with the World Health Organization’s Centre for Health Development in Kobe, Japan, where she studied aging in the global context. more

Glenn O’Farrell
Board Member

Glenn O’Farrell joined the Vanier Institute’s Board of Directors in August 2015. A native of Saint-Malachie, Québec, Glenn is actively involved in the Canadian media industry. more

Mark Schaan
Board Member

Mark Schaan joined the Vanier Institute’s Board of Directors in October 2017. Mark is Director General, Marketplace Framework Policy Branch at Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada. Throughout his career, Mark has served as an advisor to a variety of public institutions such as Human Resources and Skills Development Canada (HRSDC) and Industry Canada. more

Hélène Chalifour Scherrer
Board Member

Hélène Chalifour Scherrer joined the Vanier Institute’s Board of Directors in June 2016. Hélène was born and grew up in Québec City, where she has remained virtually all her entire adult life. She is a former Member of Parliament who represented the riding of Louis-Hébert, Quebec (2000–2004). She also served as Minister of Canadian Heritage, appointed by Prime Minister Paul Martin in 2003. more

Norma Tombari
Board Member

Norma Tombari is Senior Director, Global Diversity & Inclusion at RBC and has global responsibility for Diversity and Inclusion strategies and programs that impact talent, marketplace and community. Norma is recognized as a subject matter expert and is often sought out for best practices sharing on diversity, employee engagement and work–life related topics. more